Monday, April 26, 2010

Dacera keeps Olango title

Dacera keeps Olango title
By April C. Lavado, UP Intern
Sun.Star Cebu

April 25, 2010

AT LEAST 50 swimmers braved the summer heat and the new racecourse in the 3rd Olango Challenge at the Tambuli Beach Club, Mactan Island.

The organizers of the event, Philippine Business for Social Progress (PBSP) and the Philippine Aquatic Sports Association (Pasa), said it was easier for them to invite participants this year since swimmers already know about their event.

Nikita Dacera again topped the 5K men’s division for the third straight year, while Kiefer Ticao and Noel CaƱeda took second and third, respectively.

In the women’s division, Erika Lukay won first place, while Lorendale Echaves finished second. Paula Abigail Vega, last year’s champion, came in third this year.

In the 2.5K men’s division, Jason Ong took first place over Mucial Hermoso and Charles Fletcher.

Lorhiz Echaves came in first in the women’s side, while Frijie Laude and Karen Tiambay settled for the second and third.

Other winners were Rey Swerte and Alali Ada Villocino for the 1.5K event, and Franz Baguio for the 5K fun division.

The winners got trophies, medals and certificates, while all those who completed the 5K swim got a finisher’s shirt.

Seventy-year-old Tamotsu Takahashi was the oldest participant and said he plans to sign up again next year.

Michael Vega, the earliest to register, got a gift certificate from Shangri-la Mactan.

Organizers also raffled special prizes for the early participants.

Pasa’s Mark Joseph also praised the organizers and said the Olango Challenge is not just about producing great swimmers but producing great people as well.